Error message

Deprecated function: Array and string offset access syntax with curly braces is deprecated in include_once() (line 20 of /homepages/24/d89304348/htdocs/www/


Terry Pratchett with Michael Logan and David Logan

The winners of the inaugural Terry Pratchett Prize are announced.

Generosity by Richard Powers

By Richard Powers

A brilliant, fascinating, insightful and compelling book, emotionally deep and intellectually stimulating that asks big questions.

The Dervish House by Ian McDonald

By Ian McDonald

Another 2011 ACCA nominee, The Dervish House is a fascinating and hugely enjoyable book by a writer of real vision.

Zoo City by Lauren Buekes

By Lauren Beukes

Lauren Buekes walked away from the 2011 Arthur C Clarke Literary Award clutching the winning gong, but did she deserve it?

Declare by Tim Powers

By Tim Powers

A terrific book; smart, clever, well-written and tremendously interesting but a real Clarke Award contender?

My Story Can Beat Up Your Story by Jeffrey Alan Schechter

By Jeffrey Alan Schecter

Flat-out one of the best screenwriting books I've ever read. I actually carry it around with me.

J R R Tolkien

Literature Wales have announced the 2011 Literary Tourism Programme with a Tolkien-themed walk in the Black Mountains.

David Gemmell Legend Award

The shortists for the 2011 David Gemmell Legend Award are out now.

Lightborn by Tricia Sullivan

By Tricia Sullivan

The first of the shortlisted nominees for the Arthur C Clarke Award and a disappointing book on many levels.

Secrets of the Fire Sea by Stephen Hunt

Another terrific adventure tale from an excellent story teller.